Communication Theory Technical Committee (CTTC)

GLOBECOM 2018, Abu Dhabi, UAE

December 10, 2018

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

1. The minutes from the ICC 2018 meeting were approved.

2. CTTC awards were announced.

3. Globecom 2018, ICC 2019, Globecom 2019, CTW 2019, CTW 2020, and CTW 2021 reports were given.

4. The new chair of CTTC was elected.

DETAILED MINUTES

Meeting called to order at 18:30 Erik Perrins, Chair, presiding

OPENING BUSINESS

1. E. Perrins opened the meeting by introducing what CTTC is and what it does, explained what active membership is, and introduced the current officers: Urbashi Mitra (Vice Chair) and Philippa Martin (Secretary).

2. E. Perrins reviewed the executive summary from the minutes from the ICC 2018 CTTC meeting and asked for corrections or amendments. The minutes were approved with out any changes.

3. In his Chair's Remarks, E. Perrins explained the role of CTTC in the Communication Theory, Signal Processing for Communication, and Wireless Communication symposia. He also highlighted the role of CTTC in nominating members for awards. He announced and congratulated the Committee's new IEEE Fellows. He outlined the role of the mailing list, and how to subscribe. He explained Best Readings and encouraged members to recommend topics. The Chair concluded his remarks by soliciting volunteers to get involved with CTTC: co-chair future ICC/Globecom symposia, TPC member for symposia, organizers for CTW, etc. Those interested in volunteering should contact a CTTC officer.

4. U. Mitra is serving as the chair of the CTTC Awards Committee. In 2018, the awards committee introduced a web-based nomination system, which greatly improved the previous method of e-mailing the chair. E. Perrins announced the following award recipients for 2018: Ayfer Özgür for the Early Achievement Award, and Elza Erkip for the Technical Achievement Award (the Outstanding Service Award was not given in 2018). As none of the recipients were in attendance, each of these awards will be presented at either ICC 2019 or CTW 2019.

5. E. Perrins summarized the location and dates of upcoming ICC and GLOBECOM conferences through 2023.

SYMPOSIA AND WORKSHOP REPORTS

6. Communication Theory Symposium Reports:

- Globecom 2018: N. Mehta reported on paper statistics: 50 accepted out of 131 submissions (38.2%). He pointed out that several paper reviews are unacceptably short, and the brief comments do not correlate well with the numerical scores given. After some discussion, the recommendation is for TPC members to monitor the review quality and take action when needed.
- ICC 2019: M. Valenti gave statistics on paper submissions (126) and number of TPC members (187). The anticipated acceptance rate is 39%. Important dates were covered.
- Globecom 2019: E. Perrins introduced the three TPC co-chairs for the Symposium, the dates, and the location (Hawaii).

7. Workshop Reports:

- CTW 2019: P. Popovski presented plans for the workshop in Iceland, May 27-29. He presented beautiful photos of the venue/region, listed the organizing committee, and travel options. He then showed the nearly-completed outline of the technical program.
- CTW 2020: A. Eckford and J. Cheng, General Co-Chairs, presented plans for the workshop in Banff, Alberta, Canada. They presented some details on the venue and the region, and various ways to get there. The dates are May 17-20, 2020. They then listed the Organizing Committee. The venue is now confirmed (Banff Springs Hotel, with many great photos), and the estimated costs were given.
- CTW 2021: On behalf of the organizing committee, J. Andrews presented a proposal to have the workshop in Marbella, Spain, in late May 2021. Beautiful photos of several candidate venues were presented, along with important consideration points. Many travel options and local attractions were also presented. The floor was opened for comments on the proposal, with no specific comments given except for a general enthusiastic view of the proposal.

MORE BUSINESS

- 8. New Chair Election:
 - E. Perrins described the officer election process.
 - One nominee for Chair was endorsed by the nomination committee, U. Mitra. The floor was open to other Chair candidates, but no others were nominated.
 - The nominee joined the meeting via teleconference and outlined her goals. She made specific mention of increasing student participation.
 - Once the candidate disconnected, there was a short discussion about the candidate. A motion to elect U. Mitra as Chair was made and seconded. Vote in support of the nominee was by show of hands and was unanimous.
 - U. Mitra was congratulated for her successful election, and the committee thanks her for her willingness to serve.
- 9. The meeting was adjourned at 7:35 pm.

Minutes taken by E. Perrins

Attendance List (in alphabetical order; 33 in attendance):

Affes, Sofiène Alexandropoulos, George Andrews, Jeff Bjornson, Emil Chatzinotas, Symeon, Chen, Kwang-Chen Cheng, Julian Choi, Junil Clerckx, Bruno Collings, Iain Conti, Andrea Cumanan, Kanapathippillai De Carvalho, Elisabeth Di Renzo, Marco Eckford, Andrew Elsawy, Hesham Erol-Kantarci, Melike Haenggi, Martin Lee, Chia-Han Lozano, Angel Matthaiou, Michalis Mehta, Neelesh Mitra, Urbashi* Molish, Andy Perrins, Erik Popovski, Petar Sanguinetti, Luca Sharma, Prabhat Svensson, Tommy Tao, Meixia Tolli, Antti, Valenti, Matt Wesel, Richard

*joined by teleconference